Well, ok, I think me having a foal, well us having a foal, that was a foregone conclusion now. And every time I mentioned that to prince, he got that cute, huge grin on his face. It was clear he was looking forward expectantly to that. “Another little princess” he would often say.

I also quickly added “Or another little prince!” and we almost always hugged tightly after that if we could. We would both cherish either. But I think we freely gave ourselves to each other as completely as we could, as often as we both wanted to. There was no reason not to, and, again, we both so cherished giving that to each other. It felt so wonderfully amazing… And, looking back, prince was so wise in slowing that amazing prospect, that whole process down. We took our time, and so cherished every small step. And now…

I think it was the middle of summer, and down at the pond really did turn out to be the best place for us to enjoy each other, to give to each other. We didn’t have a foal here yet, and so we could spend hours there at the pond. And, to be fair, we usually spent afternoons there too, enjoying the warm sunshine. We often didn’t head back home until after dark. After we so thoroughly enjoyed each other, just laying next to each other, hugging… We felt no rush to jump up and head to the house. Having a foal to take care of would certainly bring some aspects of change. But I was pretty sure my prince would help us work that out together. I wasn’t worried.

We had spent some time in town on that particular day. Magic lessons with my amazing magic teacher, then some time with a few other precious friends… The day was amazing, but we didn’t get back home until maybe the middle of the afternoon. We didn’t even go into the house; we just walked straight down to the pond, and enjoyed basking in the warm sunlight the rest of the afternoon. Then we enjoyed each other together as the sun began to set. Gentle magic helped, but our bodies did most of the… well, pleasure; it was definitely not work. That night, it was dark by the time we actually fell, relaxed, into each other’s embrace. We could easily have stayed there all night. It was plenty warm out. We could see some, thanks to a pale partial moon high in the sky. We were not in a hurry. We never were. Prince was already a dream come true for me, a sentiment I’m sure he shared. There was just no reason to hurry our time together.

We guessed it was near midnight when we decided to get up, go to the house and get some sleep. We kissed some after we got up, then began walking slowly up to our house. We had not gotten very far when prince froze. I stopped when he did, maybe just a little alarmed. “Do you feel that?” prince asked very quietly. I shook my head side to side; I didn’t feel anything, except for the… what we had done…

“Prince, I don’t feel anything different, but your magic is meadows deeper than mine…” I said quietly.

The moon was our only light, and it… changed… A slight, but deepening, very dark purple tinge swept quickly across the whole face. “I sense very dark, very wicked evil about… A being whose very existance spews forth… wretched magic…” Just then, a very subtle, but clearly noticeable dark purple fog began to waft quietly over the meadow. That mist brought a very sinister tune quietly with it (2)… “I… We should be inside, I think…” prince said slowly. He sounded scared. That made me scared. Prince again started walking, then picked up the pace, and we headed for our house.

Just then, we heard a long and searing scream. The scream was real, and repeated a few times. Prince froze again, and instantly read my thoughts. “We may die trying to help them…”

I didn’t even think. “Let’s go…”

Prince turned quickly, and was soon running towards where the scream came from. On a hunch, prince was pretty sure where we were going. I just followed him but I realized… That big two headed lava beast’s carcass… That was the way we were heading… Prince stopped us near the same tree we had stopped at last time. He just stood there, listening… feeling… “He is very close…” my prince said, almost whispering. We just stood there. Even the silence felt.. oppressive…

Without warning, two, maybe three very bright things, stars maybe, blasted away, quickly up into the night sky, in totally different directions. We couldn’t tell where they came from, or where they went. That part just happened so fast… Then it was quiet briefly.

Like last time, prince said quickly “Down…” and used his magic to force me harshly to the ground, and some to the side behind a large tree, and he quickly followed me. A HUGE gust of that thick, dark purple wind drove viciously past that tree, and all the other trees around us. Some trees broke under the force of the wind… We heard limbs cracking… A storm of leaves danced madly past…

Almost as quickly as it started, the purple wind was gone… that purple mist was gone, too. Prince got up, and so I did. He used his magic to pull me close, to hug me close. Wow, I needed that… I looked for the moon; it looked normal. Prince was looking… feeling… After a few minutes, he said quietly “He is gone…” We still stood there for minutes more… waiting… That scary tune remained…

Prince felt we should go have a look, but he admitted that could be dangerous. “Maybe we can still help…” I said quietly. He smiled, I think because he felt the same way. Side by side, we walked slowly forward. And I remembered about where that lava beast was from that tree, from last time, and I guess prince did too. We slowly made our way there. The lava beast’s carcass was gone. But, in the exact same spot, we did see a very large slab of some sort of rough black rock. It was square, and pretty big. It was not normal. Prince said rock like this doesn’t just appear. He was pretty sure this rock was magically forged. He might have been able to feel the lingering magical force that created it, I don’t know. We walked slowly up to it. We really didn’t know what could happen to us for even being here. Prince said he didn’t feel anything, except that he was a little scared. I couldn’t blame him for that.

Stepping up onto that black rock… I saw it first… The only object on that large black square of rock… It was most of a pearl white Unicorn’s horn… broken jaggedly off near the base… rolling very slowly away from the center of the rock. “Don’t touch it until it stops” prince warned quietly. It rolled slowly over in a circular arc to one of the edges, then fell off. Then it stopped moving. “I think your magic teacher might know…” It was ghastly, again, but I used my magic to pick that broken Unicorn horn up. Somehorses’ magic was now a ghost of what it was. If that horse was evil, such an act was justified. But if somehorse was good, this was a terrible tragedy…

For quite a while, prince and I just stood there. We were standing next to the edge of the big, black rock square, and I was using my magic to hold this broken Unicorn’s horn some distance out in front of me, away from me. Like I said, holding somehorse else’s Unicorn horn… But this put the unicorn horn very near the center of the square, not that it mattered… For the longest time neither prince nor I moved. I started to cry… Noting the absolute evil that prince had sensed… Some probably very good Unicorn was now certainly… a terrible tragedy…

After standing there, motionless for a long time, prince said quietly “Let’s go…” I pulled the horn closer, then shivered with horror… This really was ghastly… And, whatever had happened… Then we both turned around, but we did not move at all. We watched as a Unicorn with wings, landed unsteadily some distance away from us. She looked like royalty… And how she could fly at night…

I was still using my magic to hold that pearl white Unicorn horn in front of me. As soon as she saw that Unicorn’s horn, this royal Unicorn with wings… she fell down on her front legs, and cried loudly for a long time… She kept saying “Oh mom… …This is all our fault…”

But I think prince realized… He burst into tears… “Oh, no… Summer…”

One of our precious friends… This really was a terrible tragedy…

Prince and I both laid down on our bellies right there, and cried… Everyhorse kept saying it was all their fault, but nohorse did anything… Now this… I cried pretty hard…

Before long, all of our other precious friends, and other horses we didn’t even know… Many other horses ran up, started crying, and joined our group… My magic was still holding that broken horn in front of me, maybe a foot off the ground. I think everyhorse absolutely knew what that meant… We cried together for hours…

As the sun cleared the treeline off to the east… Almost at the same time, horses all got up, still crying, and walked slowly away… “Back to their lives…” I remembered Summer saying… None of that even mattered any more I guess… Well, my new quiet friend was an absolute mess, crying uncontrollably, and a few others helped her walk, to her home I hoped…

It didn’t seem like very much longer… Just our magic teacher was left… Everyhorse else was… all gone… Our magic teacher got up, walked over to us, still crying, and asked us what we had seen. Still crying himself, prince tried to explain the brief time from us walking towards our home to when we found this horn. He covered the high points, anyway. After prince was done, my magic teacher said “You have both been such a help, and in a very difficult time for the rest of us… Thank you. At least you could…” Then she started to weep softly. Using my magic, I moved the pearl white Unicorn’s horn towards her, to give it to her. She slowly shook her head side to side… “This slab of black rock… Intensely powerful evil found them… alone… and… well… Friendship… … … But we failed them both… And now they are gone, probably forever… I guess I don’t want the reminder…” Then she turned and walked slowly off, again crying fiercely…

Prince and I had been laying on the edge of that black slab of rough rock the whole time. After everyhorse left, we stayed there, and kept crying. Direct sunlight quickly heated that slab up unbearably hot. We had to get up. We walked slowly back to our home, and I carefully put that Unicorn’s horn… Summer’s Unicorn horn on the bottom shelf of that table in our house. Then prince and I walked back down to our pond, and just laid in the grass on our bellies. Looking across our pond to the meadow that stretched far beyond, we cried together softly the rest of the day… At one point I said quietly “prince, what we saw… those… stars…”

Prince read my mind… “I know of no way anyhorse could have survived that… I am guessing their lifeless bodies will be discovered in the meadows, somewhere, but probably very far from here… And they will just get buried as no-name horses…” This just made us both cry more. That seemed so wrong…

We cried together until it was dark. I think we were cried out by then. Well, I was right next to my prince, my amazing dream come true. I worked on relaxing. Then a firefly flew past my nose. “Prince, can you comfort your Mare?” I asked quietly. I watched prince slowly smile, but felt right away… “Mmmmm…” Unicorn magic… My prince’s Unicorn magic… Wow, he felt nice… I smiled next, because I felt that my prince was enjoying what he was giving to me! “Aww, I wanna help…” I protested softly. Prince got up, and moved so he was laying on his side facing me. I did help! I think we comforted each other that night. Maybe we both needed that.

The next morning, that eerie tune was gone. But so were two of our precious friends…

——-

1. The Background Music for this entire story is entitled “The Divine” from the “Forever Today” add-on for the original soundtrack for the “Seekers of Adoulin” expansion for Final Fantasy XI, and is copywritten by Square Enix. Players of FFXI will recognize this tune immediately, and this tune is fitting since a lot of this story takes place in the dead of winter. Please purchase this tune, and play it softly in the background while you read each chapter.

2. The Background Music changes abruptly to “The Serpentine Labyrinth” also from the “Forever Today” add-on for the original soundtrack for the “Seekers of Adoulin” expansion for Final Fantasy XI, and all this is copywritten by Square Enix. This eerie tune compliments the storyline at this point nicely. And, to give credit where credit is due, the description of the deep purple that accompanies the presence of this absolute evil is rooted in the in-game “Dark Weather” characteristics from Final Fantasy XI. Though dated, and not of the ‘fast fix’ variety, the gameplay is still amazing, and the atmospherics are very good.

3. This story, “CSR Princess” is vol. 14 of the Chronicles of Summer Rain, and is copyright 2017 by Shysage

Leave a Reply

